Admin Control Panel

New Post | Edit Pages | Change Layout | Sign Out

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

An Affair to Remember

So what do ya'll think so far of the sneak peaks over on the Verve Blog? LOVE IT? Well, then it will be super hard to contain your enthusiasm for this next set I'm about to show off! It's called Cupcake Affair--aren't we all having one with them these days? The release party is TONIGHT!!! Let me introduce you to my new best friend..the VERVE cupcake.
This other card also uses the cupcake set. What? You don't see any cupcakes? That's what is FUN about it! I just used the smaller solid frosting stamp to make this little "derby hat". I stamped it in black and then heat embossed it in black as well, so it's kind of shiny. I used the dots decorations for the band and created a pop-up flower like a clown's hat by cutting a circle into a spiral! These things are FUN and fun is GOOD!

I hope you too, are now having a "Cupcake Affair"!! Be sure and join us tonight on the VERVE FORUM on SCS for our very first RELEASE PARTY!! wooOHOooOOO!!! It's tonight at about 9 PM Central time Tuesday, August 12. If you're time-zone/time machine challenged like me, that's 10 PM Eastern, 8 PM Mountain, 7 PM Pacific, 6 PM Alaska and 4 PM Hawaii-Aleutian. Hopefully Julee did her math right, there!

We'll be announcing winners from our Beautiful You giveaways, revealing some of the new sets, chatting up a storm, and basically just having a grand old time, oh and there might be a few free stamps thrown in there just to keep things interesting. Feel free to drop in for just a bit or stay for the whole shebang. And if you're so excited you need to talk amongst yourselves while you're waiting for this shindig to get started, that's is the place to do it!

TIP: Start your card with a sketch. It's kind of like having an outline before you write a paper. It's ok to "expand" on that outline. Don't feel like you have to be confined to it! For my first card I used sketch #9 from this list of the Anni-VERVE-sary sketches (Julee did an AWESOME job on them!). It's not quite the same, but close. It's always a good (time) starting point.

Encouraging Cupcake
Stamps: Cupcake Affair (Verve)
Paper: Chocolate Chip, Certainly Celery, Groovy Guava, Very Vanilla (SU!)
Ink: Chocolate Chip, Certainly Celery (SU!)
Accessories: Copic Marker, Glass Crystals, Cuttlebug Swiss Dots Embossing Folder, SU! Scallop Circle Punch, Ribbon (Michael's), Paper Piercer/Mat Pack, Ticket Corner Punch, Dimensionals


Cupcake Derby Hat
Stamps: Cupcake Affair, Beautiful You (Verve)
Paper: Tempting Turquoise, Pumpkin Pie, Basic black, Wild Wasabi (SU!), Papertrey White, Cheeky Collection-Emery (Making Memories)
Ink: Pumpkin Pie, More Mustard (SU!), Palette Noir (Superior)
Accessories: Black EP (Stampendous), Heat Gun, Scallop Circle Nestabilities, CM Circle Cutter, Prismacolor Markers, Houndstooth Cuttlebug Embossing Folder, Paper Piercer/Mat Pack, Wide Lt. Blue Grosgrain Ribbon, Dimensionals

8 comments:

  1. Oh these cards so so cute Susi!! I am loving what I see with the cupcake set - so fun! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the cupcake card! I just love cupcakes. Thanks for posting this one, will have to case this one for sure!

    Aloha,
    Michelle

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh my goodness! These are darling! I'll try to drop by the release tonight! Hope to hear from you soon!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh how clever!!...a derby hat out of cupcake icing. Awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  5. OHH YA!! I need a cupcake =) heehee. Especially a chocolate one--that always makes ME feel better ;)

    LOVE how you put the Dr. Seuss saying on your turq. card!! All of them are just sooo CUTE!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great hat on your sentiment. Love that little touch!
    Misty

    ReplyDelete
  7. That hat?! You are too clever, girlie girl!!!! Love it!!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thought you'd like to see the inspiration you gave me! Thanks so much!!

    http://kristinshappy.blogspot.com/2008/08/one-of-my-favorite-cards.html

    ReplyDelete

Comment, comment, comment!

Support the Liles Family battle against cancer

 
This blog has been "Tweaked and Designed" by Sara Williams | Powered by Blogger | Back to Top
Pin It button on image hover